Quest Nutrition Bar Review

Quest Nutrition sent me some of their Cereal Protein Bars to try and review on my blog. Looking at the Nutrition Facts made me pretty excited. They have 12 grams of protein and only 6 grams of sugar. I don’t have a super high sugar tolerance so it was nice to find a bar that was low in sugar but had lots of protein. I first tried the Cinnamon Roll flavored bar. It definitely tasted just like a cinnamon roll but my goodness was it sweet. I was only able to take a few bites before it became too sweet for me. I was curious as to how it was so sweet if it only had 6 grams of sugar so I started to look at the fine print. Turns out these bars don’t use sugar, but allulose. According to allulose.com, “Allulose is a low calorie sugar with the same clean, sweet taste you expect from sugar…A monosaccharide, or simple sugar, allulose is absorbed by the body, but not metabolized so it is nearly calorie-free.” Looks like allulose is the healthy version of sugar, just much sweeter. The bars tasted good at first but then they left a little bit of a fake after taste in my mouth which wasn’t my favorite. You’re getting a lot of protein for the amount of sugar that’s in there so if you have a sweet tooth and really want to get your protein up for working out this product is great for you. The after taste wasn’t horrible but I think I would rather have real sugar and a little less protein and just have a bar that is less sweet but tastes more natural. Compared to other protein bars though, this one is definitely one of the best I’ve tried. If you do a lot of working out this bar would probably be great for you, but I am much more of a moderate exerciser and I don’t absolutely need to have the big serving of protein in my bars. I prefer my protein in a savory form (egg, chicken, etc.). Everyone has different tastes so I recommend you try them for yourself! Here’s the link to their website.

Leave a Reply

